My first experiment with jointing, diaper cover, and bonnet.

My first experiment with jointing, diaper cover, and bonnet.

It’s a good thing that I get reminders to write this blog, because otherwise it might not get done for quite a while! This past week was taken up with some weeding (I did get the second garden done) and cooking (tacos and ravioli) and cleaning (vacuuming and dishes – the bathroom is still screaming at me). I am also working on the pattern for the Baby Teddy Bear with Pacifier. I had made a lavender bear a while ago (see photo) and I did write down the pattern, which has helped, but I forgot to write down what hook I used. I’m also using a different yarn, so the pattern has had to be tweaked a bit.

What do they say – you have to admit you have a problem before you can get help – something like that. Well, I have finally admitted to myself that I am addicted to textured yarns, but I don’t think there’s any help for this! I stopped into Big Lots and they has a beautiful dark red boucle’ yarn, and I just couldn’t resist. Then I started working with it last night, and I decided I needed to get the rest of what the store had – so now I have five skeins. Now I have to figure out what to do with it. I think it could make a great teddy bear, or if I could find the right crochet stitch it would make a wonderful scarf/stole. I will keep you updated on the progress.

See, here’s the real problem. Fancy stitches look best with a solid color smooth yarn because you don’t have the texture mucking up the design. I love fancy stitches, but I really love textured yarns. Oh, the dilemma! Oh, the angst! Now I know why one of my fellow crocheters admitted to having 17 copy-paper-size boxes of yarn. BTW, I had promised myself NOT to go to Big Lots till I had used some of my stash first. Oh, the shame!

