Yes, I have turned into a “yarnie” – that is, a fabric artist obsessed with yarn. Please for give me for the following post!

Recently Acquired Fingering Yarn

Recently Acquired Fingering Yarn

        I am still totally in love with simple cardigans (see the 6/13 entry), although at this point I haven’t started one. The gray one pictured called for 2500 yards of polypropylene yarn with a 1.75mm hook. I cannot find this type of yarn here, so I have been looking for a substitute. Thus the photo of the two yarns. I ordered the one on the left (Omega Crystal) believing, because of a deceptive photo, it was a lovely shade of ivory – but no! It is a very pale dirty-ish beige yellow (more yellow than this photo). I let the seller know how disappointed I was, and s/he came back with an apology and stated that the color card called it beige. BS!!! In my wanderings I found this yarn for sale elsewhere and the manufacturer makes a pale yellow. Also, this specific yarn is discontinued; a slightly altered version has replaced it. This has not been a total loss, though. I do like the polyester shimmer thread that runs through it and the thickness of the yarn, and I have found the new version in many colors and a good $ on another site, so this is the yarn I will use. Now what to do with 750 yards of dirty yellow? I compared it with colors I have and it goes great with the bright olive/avocado green skein of cotton crochet thread I have. I think the combination would make a great shawl or stole.

The yarn on the right is what I thought I would be using, called Hilo Crystal. This yarn is very thin (both skeins have the same amount of yarn) and I think if I would use this for the cardigan it would take me so long to make I wouldn’t ever finish. It is beautiful, and I’m sure I will find a use for it. (If you click on the photo, you’ll be able to see the shimmer in the yarns.)

Then Walmart got in on the action. The store had Halloween-colored crochet thread ($2 vs $2.50), selected colors of Caron yarn ($2.50 vs $4.97) and Lion Brand boucle yarn ($1.50 vs $5.97) on sale. Both brands of yarn are wonderfully soft acrylic, so of course I couldn’t resist. Besides, I keep a watch on Ebay and Craig’s List and neither of them have anything this good to sell. So now I am the proud owner of 5 skeins each of Caron’s pistachio green & eggplant purple, 6 skeins of blood red boucle yarn, and 2 skeins of acrylic green-purple-black crochet thread.  I have no idea what I will do with them, but since I’m not giving up crocheting, I’m sure I’ll think of something. Besides, I didn’t know that crochet thread came in acrylic – this opens a whole new world for me!

