I didn’t realize my last post was last August! However, I do have a little bit of an excuse for some of that time. For November and December I was a “Santa’s Helper” working for a photography company. My husband has been working as Mall Santa for the last 14 years and has an ideal setup with this company. So, yes, I’m Mrs.Claus (one of many around the country!). Anyway, I’ll be writing on my personal experiences on this in another post – a kind of “heads up” for parents. Even though I’m sure it won’t have a massive following, I need to get some things off my chest. But more on that later.

The Holey Moley Scarf

The Holey Moley Scarf

So what have I been crocheting lately? Very time consuming projects, that’s what. One is my version of the Sophie Digard Nitro Linen scarf. After I made a sample of this for my sister, I realized that the best way to do this was to crochet the flowers in long rows, block them, and then sew the rows together. I still have a few rows left to sew together but it should be done soon. The second project was a large scarf / mini-stole out of Curio cotton crochet thread from Knit Picks yarn company. The only name I could think of was “The Holey Moley Scarf”, but that isn’t a very elegant name. I think I should work on that. I’ve taken a few photos and I’m going to try to do better ones, then send one to Knit Picks. Hope they like it!

Camellia Bloom

Camellia Bloom

I have to mention that DH enjoys making jigsaw puzzles – small but very difficult ones. And he’s managed to sell a few for some really hefty prices. Yea! Our camellia bush is in bloom now and I took a fresh bloom, set it on our front wall and took a picture. I really liked the soft petals against the hard texture of the wall (see pic), so I’m telling DH to make a puzzle out of it. I think it would make a great puzzle!

My next project will be to make a Grandma Easter Bunny and post the pattern in my store. The Grandpa version was popular and I think he deserves a wife, and since Easter is sooner this year, I’d better get going on it. I have several patterns to put the final touches on so I can put them up for sale. I’ve come to realize that it is best to use name brand yarns because if someone buys a pattern s/he most likely will want to use the same yarn you have used just to simplify the process. Substituting yarns can complicate things immensely. Luckily, there have been some really nice yarn sales that I have gotten in on – too many perhaps – so I’ll just have to figure out what to make with them. I’m sure I’ll come up with something!

