The Pumpkin Spice Cowl, made with Artiste #5 acrylic crochet thread

The Pumpkin Spice Cowl, made with Artiste #5 acrylic crochet thread

Close-up of crochet stitch

Close-up of crochet stitch

Yes, indeed! This blog is being brought to you by my younger son’s graciousness by lending me his laptop. My laptop was acting very strange in the past week, and then it crashed. Luckily, I have a WONDERFUL YS and he has been able to figure out that my laptop needs either a new operating system and/or a new hard drive. Both of my sons have come to the conclusion that I need a different computer configuration because I use the laptop just about all day every day, and this could be a real problem because of over-heating. In short, a laptop is not supposed to be used that much. I didn’t understand exactly what they were talking about, but my YS was able to retrieve all my files from my laptop (YES!) and I’ve told him to do what he needs to do to bring my laptop back to life, and then we’ll consider other options.

Now if that wasn’t bad enough, my camera has also decided to die. I looked up info about this camera on line, and apparently some of them have been known to have a problem with a “ribbon” – this makes it possible to have a visual on the LCD screen. I finally was able to get in touch with a camera repair shop, and they told me it would cost $270 to fix the camera. I paid $200 five years ago. My YS told me that I had done pretty good by having the camera “that long”. I did take about 1,000 photos with it, but five years – really!!!! Yeah, I know. I’m an old fart. Anyway, I found a new camera on line for about half the price and with very good reviews, so I am awaiting its arrival.

Another expenditure – but this one is a good one – is that I’m going to visit my relatives in Illinois for a week! I’m really looking forward to the trip and I’m grateful that my sister-in-law suggested it. Why I didn’t think of it myself, I don’t know. I guess I was freaking out about my broken electronics to think about a trip.

And for the last expense. Well, I know I promised myself not to purchase any more yarn/crochet thread, but Joann’s sent me sooo many 50% off coupons that I just couldn’t help myself. I tried out Hobby Lobby’s Artiste acrylic #5 crochet thread (see photo) and I fell in love! It blocks beautifully and they have some great colors. Well, the local Joann’s just moved to a new larger store and they now carry Bernat #5 acrylic thread – so for half off, I indulged. The cotton crochet thread is nice, but it can shrink and it doesn’t have the softness of the acrylic. More later!

