Once again, time has gotten away from me and it has been forever getting to my blog. The blog with the yarn-bombed trolley and the facebook cartoon I posted received A LOT of attention. This says to me that I’ve been down the crochet rabbit hole too long and apparently I need to come up for air every now and then.

Selection from Cristina Burns 'Phosphene' collection

A selection from Cristina Burns ‘Phosphene’ collection

I receive emails from a site called Bloglovin’, People sign their blogs up with Bloglovin’, and Bloglovin’ lists ones that they deem interesting. You can choose what blogs you would like to see, and of course I chose crochet, although apparently they took notice of my occasional forays into RecipeLand and send me various cooking blogs from time to time.

So from Crochet Concupiscence today I saw work from Cristina Burns and her series of photographs called Phosphene (which means ‘directly stimulating the visual system without the use of light’). She gathered flowers, candies and random items in compositions similar to mandalas. The circular shape is given thanks to a mirror effect, so she also uses a kaleidoscope principle. Can this get any cooler?! I just hope the green bugs weren’t the real thing.

Another of Cristina Burns 'Phosphene' works of art

Another of Cristina Burns ‘Phosphene’ works of art

Mandalas are geometric figures representing the universe in Hindu and Buddhist symbolism. And they are beautiful! So of course the crochet world came up with their version. (You knew this was going to relate to crochet somehow, right?) You can view many crocheted mandalas at #MandalasForMarinke on Crochet Concupiscence’s website. Pinterest also has many photos of mandalas to color and crocheted mandalas. Enjoy!

 
 
Atty's Mandala can be found at http://atty-s.blogspot.nl/2014/06/blog-post.htm

Atty’s Mandala can be found at http://atty-s.blogspot.nl/2014/06/blog-post.htm

Mandala Stool Cover designed by Susan Carlson at Felted Button

Mandala designed by Susan Carlson at Felted Button – http://www.feltedbutton.com/p/my-patterns_26.html

