IMG_0435ASo in my last post I let you know I had gotten a job as a crochet teacher at Needles, Hooks, and Yarn in Glendora, CA. I’ve certainly been quite busy since then, not only with students but with creating items to promote yarns, classes, or just crochet itself. Yarn companies have a notorious tendency to omit crochet when making samples, so it’s my job to bring this art to light for Needles, Hooks and Yarn!. The other reason I’ve been so busy is that Nancy, the owner of the shop, came down with shingles at the beginning of August and asked me to keep the store open for her while she recuperated. Thankfully, she is well on the mend now and back to her old self again.

I have reworked the poinsettia and now have an official pattern available in my store. I do want to make a cream and pink version, but those are on the back burner for now because I’m busy making a very cute ghost and will be starting a witch’s hat soon.

Below is my VERY FIRST top that I’ve ever made, and it was created using Weekend DK by Berroco. I call it “The Weekender” (yes, I know, but I thought the name was appropriate). I was so happy that it actually fit the mannequin! The original pattern I saw is free and was written by Emma on her blog Gathering Beauty at http://www.gatheringbeauty.com/2016/04/diy-granny-square-crochet-top.html. However, the pattern Emma found is free and posted on Maria Valles’ blog atIMG_0450 - CopyA http://www.mariavalles.com/blog/i6k6696x8q4zkndhkqf7tko06iyj8g. I have written a very detailed pattern for my version of this top, but ethics dictate that I too should list this pattern for free. I’ve put a lot of work into this pattern, though, so I don’t want to do that. I’m thinking that if I let people know where the pattern is available for free and give them the option, that should let me off the “ethical hook”. Please let me know your opinion!

For those of you who aren’t aware of ‘the Dark Side of Crochet Patterns’, unethical people will take other designer’s free patterns, rework the graphics a little and/or make minor changes to the pattern, then SELL the pattern on their site. Of course this is much easier to do than to come up with an original design and write the pattern from scratch. Technically, this is what I’m proposing to do with The Weekender, but if I give the URLs to the free sites before someone purchases my version, then they can decide for themselves. I don’t see a problem with this, but please give me your feedback. Sometimes I get tunnel vision and need other people’s objectivity. Thank you for letting me know what you think.

